T-SQL Tuesday #050: Automation, how much of it is the same?


A new year is always a time of great joy and celebration for most of us. For some of us it is a chance to start something new. For a select few, it is time to laze a little and let the haze of winter pass by. To all of you, here is to a great year ahead! Cheers!

TSQL-Tuesday#050: The automation story

TSQL-Tuesday#050: The automation story

Automation plays a huge part in our lives and the DBA profession is no so different. A couple of years ago this topic was shared by Pat Wright. I would like to revisit this again and see how much of our approach has changed.

You could write about, what options you would consider when automating something? Where do you draw the line? What are our preferred tools for automation? T-SQL, PowerShell, VBScript or Batch files(?) or maybe just share something that you automated in the last couple of years.

What is T-SQL Tuesday?
T-SQL Tuesday is a monthly blog party hosted by a different blogger each month. This blog party was started by Adam Machanic (blog|twitter). You can take part by posting your own participating post that fits the topic of the month and follows the requirements below. Additionally, if you are interested in hosting a future T-SQL Tuesday, contact Adam Machanic on his blog.

How to Participate

  • Your post must be published between 00:00 GMT Tuesday, January 14th, 2014, and 00:00 GMT Wednesday January 15th, 2013.
  • Your post must contain the T-SQL Tuesday logo from above and the image should link back to this blog post.
  • Trackbacks should work. But, please do add a link to your post in the comments section below so everyone can see your work.
  • Tweet about your post using the hash tag #TSQL2sDay.
About

By profession, I’m a SQL Server Database Administrator. I love to poke my nose into different corners and see how stuff looks in there. I keep looking for new things to do as my mind refuses to settle on one topic.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in SQL Server
43 comments on “T-SQL Tuesday #050: Automation, how much of it is the same?
  1. […] Jan – T-SQL Tuesday #50 – Automation […]

  2. […] month’s T-SQL Tuesday is about automation, and I thought I’d write about how a few of my favourite applications help me massively in the […]

  3. DevJef says:

    Thank you for hosting! My post can be found here:

    T-SQL Tuesday #50 – Automation: yea or nay

  4. […] can read more entries from this weeks T-SQL Tuesday, hosted by […]

  5. […] month’s topic comes from @sqlchow who gives us the topic of automation. How would we do it? What would we do? What tools? It’s a great […]

  6. […] month the Tsql2sDay topic is automation – props to our host SqlChow for the topic.  Props to Adam Machanic for the rolling […]

  7. RThomas says:

    Hey SqlChow ! Here’s my submission for the month: A better mousetrap? http://wp.me/p2TlyL-9x

  8. […] T-SQL Tuesday #050: Automation, how much of it is the same? […]

  9. Looks like my pingback didn’t make it. Here is the link to my post: http://blog.waynesheffield.com/wayne/archive/2014/01/tsql-tuesday_50_automation_verifying-the-backup-chain/

    Thanks for the topic and for hosting!

  10. […] ← T-SQL Tuesday #050: Automation, how much of it is the same? […]

  11. […] This blog party was started by Adam Machanic (blog|twitter). You can take part by posting your own participating post that fits the topic of the month. This month, SQLChow blessed us with a topic I am very passionate about. This months T-SQL Tuesday topic is automation. […]

  12. […] months T-SQL Tuesday is about automation and I thought I’d write about extending existing automation.  One of my favorite scripts for […]

  13. […] months T-SQL Tuesday is about automation and I thought I’d write about extending existing automation.  One of my favorite scripts for […]

  14. […] This blog party was started by Adam Machanic (blog|twitter). You can take part by posting your own participating post that fits the topic of the month. This month, SQLChow blessed us with a topic I am very passionate about. This months T-SQL Tuesday topic is automation. […]

  15. […] time once again for that monthly geek party again we like to call T-SQL Tuesday. T-SQL Tuesday #50 is hosted this month by Hemanth.D (Blog|@SQLChow). You are invited to visit his […]

  16. And my contribution – http://martincatherall.com/2014/01/15/tsql-tuesday050-automation/.
    Cheers for hosting the first T-SQL Tuesday of 2014 and also the 50th edition!

  17. My first participation – hopefully I’m clear! I was in a bit of a hurry due to a snow storm/blizzard – time to head home!
    http://allen-mcguire.blogspot.com/2014/01/using-automation-to-help-others-save.html

  18. […] You can read the invite he posted here. […]

  19. Gogorichie says:

    Thanks for revisiting and hosting for the 2014 year. Here’s my contribution http://www.gogorichie.com/2014/01/t-sql-tuesday-050-automation-get-work-done-while-sleeping/

  20. […] big thank you to Hemanth [T | B] for hosting this year’s first T-SQL Tuesday and to Adam Machanic [B|T] as his initiative just […]

  21. […] time once again for that monthly geek party again we like to call T-SQL Tuesday. T-SQL Tuesday #50 is hosted this month by Hemanth.D (Blog|@SQLChow). You are invited to visit his […]

Leave a comment